The J. William Middendorf Pillar of Freedom Award is named in honor of Ambassador J. William Middendorf, Little Compton resident, former Secretary of the Navy, and current Heritage Foundation board member. He is, perhaps, Rhode Island’s greatest living defender of freedom.

The three foundational principals that comprise the Rhode Island Center for Freedom and Prosperity’s annual Middendorf Pillar of Freedom Award; personal philanthropy, civic engagement, and free-market or entrepreneurial achievement … or free-market public policy advocacy.

The award is bestowed each year to a deserving honoree at the annual fundraising banquet of the RI Center for Freedom & Prosperity.


2023 – Frank & Liz Mauran

(3-year pandemic hiatus)

2019 – Senator Elaine Morgan and Representative Sherry Roberts

2018 – Dr. Daniel Harrop

2017 – Warren and Robert Galkin