The Middendorf “Pillar of Freedom” Award

The J. William Middendorf Pillar of Freedom Award is named in honor of Ambassador J. William Middendorf, former Secretary of the Navy and current Heritage Foundation board member, and who is perhaps Rhode Island’s greatest living defender of freedom.

The the award is based upon the nominee’s record of achievement in one or more of the following areas : 1) Entrepreneurial or free-market business leadership, 2) Civic engagement, 3) Record of philanthropic giving or charitable organization volunteerism, or 4) Legislative voting history on preserving individual and constitutional freedoms.

The Rhode Island Center for Freedom & Prosperity celebrates winners of this prestigious award at its annual Ocean State Freedom Banquet.

2018 Pillar of Freedom Award Winner:

Dr. Daniel Harrop

Click here for full write-up on Dr. Harrop

2017 Pillar of Freedom Award Winners: 

Robert & Warren Galkin